Endangered Creature Alphabet

It’s finally arrived! the Endangered Creature Alphabet  “An illustrated collection of 26 threatened species, drawn by 26 talented artists” and I’m one of them!

http://www.creaturemag.com/endangered-creature-alphabet/

Each of the 26 artists/illustrators was given a letter of the alphabet and an endangered animal. I was given L for Leatherback Turtle. At first I was a little unsure as I’d never before illustrated a turtle and I don’t normally draw things true-to-life (as was specified in the brief) but once I did some research and I saw the turtles in all their spotted glory it really wasn’t difficult at all. The main issue was that the turtle has very dark colouring, making it difficult to get all the features to stand out.

But anyway, here he is:

I’m really pleased with how he turned out! And now I know I can illustrate fairly realistically :)

About thequickfox

I'm an illustrator and graphic designer from the UK

3 responses to “Endangered Creature Alphabet

  1. I think you did an amazing job on this… i really love the way you have picked out the little spots of detail like stars and given it a soft underwater texture… a very lovely illustration.

    Creature

Leave a comment